Education & Learning

As a signatory to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG’s), the government is committed to giving every child in Tuvalu the best start in life. 

Early childhood care and education continues to be a key priority in Tuvalu. 

A total of 18 Early Childhood Care and Education Centers that are managed and operated by island communities, Kaupule, non-government organizations and private providers. 

Every ECCE center has a School Management Committee (SMC) which works closely with the Education Department and are open to all children aged 3 to 5 on a voluntary basis.

Even though the ECCE has not been formally brought under the ambits of the EdDep, government provides financial support for teachers’ salaries, infrastructure, teaching resources and professional support.


For more information, visit:

Primary education is free and compulsory to all children aged 6 -13 years old. Children enter primary schools the year they turn 6 years of age. There are nine government primary schools, one on every island.

These schools are run in collaborative partnership with the Kaupule. There is one faith-based primary school on Funafuti, the Seventh day Adventist primary school, which is run and operated by the SDA church.

Primary education has a duration of 8 years and at the end of Year 8, children sit the National Year Eight (NYE) examination. This examination is a monitoring examination.


For more information, visit:

A total of 2 secondary schools in Tuvalu. Motufoua Secondary School (MSS) and Fetuvalu High School (FHS). MSS is a boarding school and is located on Vaitupu Island, one of the Islands in the Central part of Tuvalu. FHS on the other hand is located on the capital of Tuvalu, Funafuti, and its not a boarding school. 

There are three years of senior secondary education – Year 11, Year 12 and Year 13. 

At the end of year 12, children sit for the Tuvalu Senior Secondary Certificate (TSSC). The examination will determine the children’s pathway as to whether he or she will continue on to Year 13 or to the franchise programme for the Certificate IV programmes.

At the end of Year 13, students sit for the South Pacific  Form Seven  Certificate (SPFSC) examination.

Students who drop out from Year 10 can progress if they wish – to do secretarial studies offered through the Maleta Kapane Halo(MKH) Commercial School and other educational institutions on the Funafuti Island. These students than requested to take up internships within the Government for a period of 3 months or less.

Others can attempt to do the Maritime Certificate for Seafarers offered at the Tuvalu Maritime Training Institute (TMTI).

There is also an initiative administered through the Youth Department for out of school youths to do vocational programmes at the Youth Centres in Fiji.

Pre-Tertiary opportunities are available both locally and abroad for students who successfully complete the Year 11 and Year 12 programmes at secondary school.


For more Information visit the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport’s website,